In-depth product review

Wrike review: what it does, who it suits, and what it costs

A documentation-based review of Wrike's five-plan ladder, published per-user prices, add-on costs, and the limits Wrike does not disclose. No hands-on testing.

What Wrike is

Wrike is a cloud work management platform. That first word is not decoration: Wrike’s own pricing FAQ answers the question “Does Wrike have an on-premise solution or is it just cloud-based?” with “Wrike is entirely cloud-based” (wrike.com/price/, retrieved 2026-11-05). If your organization requires self-hosting, the evaluation ends there.

What Wrike says it does with that cloud sits across four broad jobs, judging by how its features page is organized: ideating and intake, planning and resourcing, execution, and reporting and analysis, with integration and permissions layered underneath (wrike.com/features/, retrieved 2026-11-05). The same page leans hard on governed AI, describing agents whose work is “logged and auditable” and AI that “works under the same roles and permissions as your people.”

Scope and method of this review

This review is built entirely from five Wrike-published pages retrieved on 2026-11-05: the pricing page, the features page, and three Help Center articles covering plan types, the Team plan, and the Business plan. The plan-types and Team articles were last updated 2026-08-12; the Business article 2026-06-18.

No product was installed, trialed, or used. Nothing here is a judgment about speed, usability, reliability, or support quality, because none of that can be established from documentation. What follows is an account of what Wrike commits to in writing, where its plan boundaries fall, and which numbers it declines to publish. Where a claim is Wrike’s own, it is labeled as such.

The core capability set

Wrike’s features page lists a conventional but broad work management set. For planning: interactive Gantt charts with dependencies and milestones, workload charts for individual capacity, calendar view, board (Kanban) view, table view, resource bookings against people or job roles, and effort management. For execution: proofing with comments placed directly on images, video, PDF, and Office files; internal and guest approval chains; rule-based automations; a document editor; and file attachment with Box, Dropbox, and Google Drive integration. For reporting: dashboards built from widgets, chart view, scheduled real-time reports, advanced analytics and BI, time tracking, budgeting of planned against actual cost, and invoice management (wrike.com/features/).

The same page claims integration with “400+ applications, including Salesforce, HubSpot, Bynder, Zoom, Slack, and more,” plus an open API, a Cloud Content Connector for digital asset management platforms, an Adobe Creative Cloud extension, and a Klaxoon integration. Wrike Whiteboard is described as “powered by Klaxoon.”

Two things are worth noting about that list. It is a platform-wide inventory, not a per-plan one: the features page says plainly that “feature availability depends on your plan.” And several of the headline items in it, including budgeting and advanced BI, turn out to sit behind tiers Wrike does not price.

The five-plan ladder

Wrike currently sells five plans: Free, Team, Business, Pinnacle, and Apex. Both the pricing page and the Help Center article “Types of Plans in Wrike” (updated 2026-08-12) name the same five, and that article states these plans “are available from January 20, 2026” (help.wrike.com, Types of Plans in Wrike).

The Help Center’s one-line positioning of each is useful: Free for individuals or teams needing basic tools, Team for smaller teams needing more functionality and customization, Business for teams wanting advanced functionality, Pinnacle for teams needing advanced reporting and business intelligence, and Apex for teams wanting a unified platform with AI intelligence, visual collaboration, automated data flows, and app integrations.

The repackaging is recent enough that older naming still shows through the documentation. The Business article describes Business as having “all the basic Wrike features included in Free and Professional plans,” and the plan-types article’s Pinnacle description refers to options “provided in Enterprise.” Both Professional and Enterprise appear only as legacy plans in the Help Center’s related-articles lists. A buyer reading these pages should expect some stale references.

What the free tier actually constrains

Free is genuinely usable and genuinely capped, and the caps are account-wide rather than per-user. The plan-types table gives Free unlimited users, unlimited folder hierarchy, 2 GB storage per account, and tasks “Limited (200 active tasks per account)” (help.wrike.com, Types of Plans in Wrike).

That combination is unusual and it matters. Unlimited users on a free tier is generous. But 200 active tasks shared across the whole account is a low ceiling for any team doing continuous delivery work, and because the limit is per account rather than per person, adding people makes it bind faster. Free is realistically a single-project or evaluation tier. The pricing page lists Free’s feature set as web, desktop and mobile apps, project and task management, board view, and table view.

Where the Team plan stops

Team is priced and scoped for small groups: “From 2 up to 15” users and “Up to 2 GB per user” of storage per the plan-types table, with unlimited tasks and subtasks. The dedicated Team article confirms the 2 to 15 range and adds the detail that matters most about this tier: “Team plan allows accessing one shared Team Dashboard,” and “Creating new dashboards is available on Business, Pinnacle, Apex subscriptions” (help.wrike.com, Team).

One dashboard for the whole team is a real constraint if different functions need different views of progress. Otherwise Team is reasonably equipped: Wrike Views with saved filters, custom fields, custom statuses and workflows, rule-based automation, Gantt chart, chart view, calendar view, and files view, per the same article. The pricing page adds AI Essentials at this tier, which it defines as “AI content and editing, comment summary, board AI, mobile inbox prioritization, and NL automation rule generation” (wrike.com/price/). The Team article also states there is “no data loss when migrating to the Team plan from any other subscription.”

What Business unlocks

Business is where the plan stops being a task tracker and starts being an operations system. The plan-types table gives it up to 200 users and 5 GB storage per user. The Business article’s feature list covers custom item types (so your workspace holds OKRs, bugs, or candidate cards rather than generic tasks), the Automation Engine, request forms for structured intake, blueprints for reusable project templates, calendars and work schedules, time tracking with Timelog view, the Report Builder plus progress and performance reports, multi-stage and ad hoc approvals including guest approvals, proofing, resource management via effort, Resources view, workload charts and timesheets, access roles for granular folder and project permissions, a branded workspace, and integrations for Salesforce, Adobe Creative Cloud, Bynder, and MediaValet (help.wrike.com, Business).

For most teams evaluating Wrike seriously, Business is the real entry point. Approvals, request forms, and resourcing are the capabilities that distinguish a work management platform from a shared to-do list, and all three land here.

One inconsistency to put to sales: the Help Center table gives Business “Up to 200” users, while the pricing page’s Business card says “5 to 200 users.” Whether there is a five-seat floor is not settled by these pages.

The gates above Business

The pricing page is explicit about what Pinnacle adds on top of Business: three times more AI Elite actions per month, “Advanced resource and capacity planning” covering extensive role management, user custom fields and time-tracking capabilities, “Budgeting (track financials)” based on member or job role bill and cost rates with billable hours, and “Advanced reporting and BI.” Apex then adds ten times more AI Elite actions, unlimited Whiteboards, Wrike Integrate, and bi-directional third-party integration via Wrike Sync (wrike.com/price/).

The plan-types table corroborates the shape of this, listing advanced reporting and BI (Wrike Analyze), job roles, budgeting, bookings, and locked spaces among the upper-tier rows, with storage rising to 15 GB per user on Pinnacle and 50 GB per user on Apex.

So project financials and serious BI are upper-tier features. That is the single most consequential fact in Wrike’s packaging, because of what comes next.

Published prices

As retrieved on 2026-11-05, the pricing page lists three figures (wrike.com/price/):

  • Free: $0 user/month
  • Team: $10 user/month
  • Business: $25 user/month

The page attaches its own conditions to those numbers. “The amount shown is priced per month and billed on an annual per-user basis.” All prices are listed in US dollars, invoices are issued in US dollars, and “all of our prices do not include applicable state/local taxes and you (the client) will be responsible for them.” And the pricing “is valid only for new purchases occurring on or after January 21, 2026,” with Wrike reserving the right to adjust packaging and pricing at any time.

A 15-person team on Business, then, has a published list commitment of $375 per month billed annually, before tax and before add-ons.

The prices Wrike does not publish

Pinnacle and Apex both display “Contact us” and “Connect with us for pricing.” No figure, no range, no starting point.

This is worth naming rather than glossing. Budgeting, advanced reporting and BI, and advanced resource and capacity planning are exactly the features a team lead would be buying a platform like this to get, and their cost cannot be determined from Wrike’s public materials. Any Wrike evaluation that needs project financials is an evaluation with no public price. We will not estimate it, because an estimate would be invented. It goes in the questions list below.

Buying mechanics that affect the bill

Three details in the pricing FAQ change the arithmetic (wrike.com/price/):

Seats are sold in blocks, not individually. “For accounts of up to 30 seats, subscriptions are sold in groups of five. For accounts of 30 to 100 seats, subscriptions are sold in groups of 10. For accounts above 100 seats, subscriptions are sold in groups of 25.” An 11-person team is therefore buying 15 seats, and a 101-person organization is buying 125.

Monthly billing is not an option above Team. “Wrike Business plans and above are only available as annual subscriptions.”

Self-serve purchasing is narrow. After a trial, “you can purchase the Team plan and the Business plan for up to 15 users with no add-ons in the Account section of your workspace.” Anything larger, or anything with an add-on, routes through a Wrike representative. The free trial is described as 14 days, and the FAQ states that on expiry the account is blocked until you downgrade to Free or speak to a representative, with data remaining intact.

Add-ons as a second cost layer

Wrike sells a set of premium capabilities separately. The pricing page states they “are included with an Apex subscription (except Wrike Lock and AI Elite actions pack) or can be purchased as paid add-ons to other plans.” Only one carries a figure (wrike.com/price/):

  • Wrike Whiteboard: $15 user/month
  • Wrike Integrate: custom pricing
  • Wrike Two-Way Sync (two-way sync with 22 integrated systems including Jira and GitHub): custom pricing
  • Wrike Datahub: custom pricing
  • Wrike Lock (customer-managed encryption keys): custom pricing
  • AI Elite action pack: custom pricing

At $15 per user per month, Whiteboard costs more than half the Business license it attaches to. The rest are unpriced, which means a Business-tier buyer who needs two-way Jira sync and customer-managed keys cannot assemble a total cost of ownership from public information.

AI positioning and its limits

Wrike’s AI story is tiered by volume rather than by capability alone. AI Essentials appears at Team. AI Elite appears at Business as what the pricing page calls “a starter pack of AI Elite actions to experiment with AI agents,” then at 3x on Pinnacle and 10x on Apex. The FAQ states that no extra payment is needed for Copilot and AI agents: “All plans starting from the Business tier include a number of AI Elite actions.”

The FAQ also makes a notable commitment about overage: asked whether exceeding the plan’s AI action limit triggers automatic invoicing, Wrike answers “No,” and says that when a customer goes beyond their plan limit, “a discussion is opened around usage and the best package to power them” (wrike.com/price/).

That is a reasonable-sounding policy, but it rests on a number Wrike does not give. These pages never define what one AI Elite action is, nor how many are included at Business. “3x” and “10x” are multiples of an undisclosed base. The practical AI ceiling of any tier therefore cannot be assessed from the published material, and neither can the cost of raising it, since the AI Elite action pack is custom-priced and excluded from Apex’s bundled add-ons.

Licensing and user types

Seat count is not the same as headcount in Wrike. The pricing FAQ describes two license classes (wrike.com/price/). Full users “have more default permissions enabled and can do more in Wrike”; regular users and external users are both full users and each “require a paid-user seat,” with external users limited to certain access rights. Limited users “have fewer permissions and limited access to certain Wrike features,” and either “require a paid user seat at a reduced rate to that of a full user license (as contributors) or may be provisioned into the workspace for free (as viewers).”

For a team with many occasional reviewers, that structure can pull the effective per-head cost well below the headline figure. How far below is not stated: these pages give no contributor rate and no definition of which features a contributor loses.

Security, hosting, and compliance claims

The following are vendor claims, taken from Wrike’s own pages and not independently verified here.

The pricing FAQ lists “independent third-party certifications” of SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2013, ISO 27018:2019, and CSA STAR, and adds that Wrike is “EU & US and Swiss & US Privacy Shield-certified, GDPR-compliant and CCPA-compliant” (wrike.com/price/). The features page separately states Wrike “is ISO 27001 certified, holds SOC 2 and SOC 3 audit reports, and is GDPR compliant across every data touchpoint,” and cites “a 99.9% uptime SLA” (wrike.com/features/); the pricing page footer carries “Uptime Over 99.9%.”

On residency, the FAQ states that location is set automatically by where you register: “Accounts created from Europe are hosted in our European data center in Paris, France, while all other accounts are hosted in our primary U.S. data center in Santa Clara, California,” with changes requiring a request to Wrike. Readers in regulated sectors should note that the Privacy Shield reference is to a framework whose status has changed since its introduction, and should verify current transfer mechanisms directly.

Security controls themselves are tier-dependent. The plan-types table places SSO with SAML, password policies, 2FA, admin permissions, and user audit reports in the upper portion of the ladder, and Wrike Lock is a paid add-on on every plan including Apex.

Onboarding cost signals

Wrike’s own answer to “From what team size do you recommend adding a Professional Services deployment” is revealing: “We recommend all new teams work with a consultant during onboarding, and insist that teams of 20+ utilize a guided deployment” (wrike.com/price/). Professional Services is described as a separate consultancy offering with “a selection of Professional Services packages designed to successfully onboard your team.”

Two readings are available and both are worth holding. One is that Wrike is being candid that aligning a team of 20 on a configurable platform takes help. The other is that a platform whose vendor insists on guided deployment above 20 people is not a tool you switch on in an afternoon. Either way, a team of 20 or more should budget for a line item whose price these pages do not state.

Who the plan ladder fits

Matching team shapes to tiers using only the documented limits:

Free suits an individual or a pair running a small number of projects, and works as an evaluation sandbox. The 200 active tasks per account cap is the thing to watch, and unlimited users makes it arrive sooner, not later.

Team at $10 per user per month suits a group of 2 to 15 that needs Gantt planning, custom workflows, and automation but can live with a single shared dashboard and 2 GB per user.

Business at $25 per user per month suits any team whose process involves approvals, structured intake via request forms, proofing of creative assets, or capacity planning by effort. Marketing, creative, and client-service teams will likely find their requirements cluster here. Note that Wrike’s own ROI calculator on the features page outputs “Business Plan” as “the ideal Wrike plan for you,” which tells you where the vendor expects most buyers to land.

Pinnacle or Apex is where you go if you need project or client budgeting, billable hours against bill and cost rates, advanced BI, Wrike Integrate, or two-way sync. This is unpriced territory. If budgets and BI are hard requirements, treat the cost as an open variable from the start of the evaluation rather than a late surprise.

Two boundaries deserve advance thought. The jump from Team to Business is a tripling of headline per-user cost, and the 15-user ceiling on Team means growth forces that jump whether or not you need the features. And the 200-user cap on Business means a scaling organization eventually meets an unpriced tier regardless of its feature needs.

What this review cannot tell you

Honestly stated, the gaps are substantial.

Nothing here speaks to how Wrike performs. No product was used, so there is no finding on speed, interface quality, mobile parity, migration friction, or how responsive support is in practice. Documentation describes intent, not experience.

Pinnacle and Apex pricing is unavailable, and so is pricing for every add-on except Whiteboard. The contributor seat rate and the cost of Professional Services are likewise unpublished. Together that means the total cost of any configuration beyond self-serve Team or Business is indeterminate from public sources.

All security, compliance, and uptime figures are the vendor’s own and were not independently verified for this review. The same applies to scale claims such as “TRUSTED BY 20,000+ ORGANIZATIONS WORLDWIDE” on the pricing page and role-based access control that “scale[s] to 100,000+ users across 40 or more countries” on the features page.

Finally, satisfaction figures carried on Wrike’s pages are self-reported presentations. The features page shows “4.5 based on 13,000+ reviews” without naming the source or sources on the page text retrieved, and the pricing page cites Wrike being “named a Leader” in a 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant on Collaborative Work Management. Neither was verified at source here, and vendor-selected ratings should not be read as independent assessment.

Open questions to put to Wrike sales

The unresolved items below are the ones that would change a purchase decision, and every one of them requires an answer from Wrike rather than from its website. They are listed in full in this review’s questions set: Pinnacle and Apex per-user pricing; the definition of an AI Elite action, the allowance at each tier, and what happens commercially after the overage “discussion”; the contributor seat rate and what contributors cannot do; pricing for Integrate, Two-Way Sync, Datahub, Lock, and AI Elite packs; the cost and content of Professional Services packages, especially the insisted-upon guided deployment at 20+; and whether the 200-user Business cap is negotiable or a hard migration trigger to an unpriced tier.

Pricing snapshot

Wrike pricing

Figures withheld pending verification

Plan names, billing terms, limits, and add-ons will appear only after a dated manual check.