What Zoho Projects is, in the vendor’s own framing
Zoho presents Zoho Projects as project management software for planning projects, tracking work and collaborating with teams (zoho.com/projects/, retrieved 2026-11-07). The capabilities the product page leads with are:
- Gantt charts for building a project plan and tracking the task schedule, which the page says keep you aware of critical tasks and their dependencies and show deviations between planned and actual progress.
- Timesheets for logging billable and non-billable hours, either manually or with timers, with a built-in Zoho Invoice integration that the page says will automatically generate invoices from timesheets.
- Customisation through personalised fields, modules, statuses and workflows.
- Workflow automation through a drag-and-drop interface the page describes as covering simple processes through to complex workflows.
- Zia AI features, framed on that page as an intelligent assistant, productivity and search help, communication help and “Smart Analytics” that give an intelligent breakdown of reports and charts, plus “Connected Intelligence” for connecting Projects to AI providers.
- Integrations with other Zoho apps and third-party apps, which the page quantifies as “50+” via its marketplace.
One qualification matters for everything in this section: that page is marketing copy, not documentation. It names features and claims outcomes, but it does not define them, does not say which edition they belong to, and was not written to be checked. Where this review needs a boundary - what a feature includes, or which plan it starts on - it uses the pricing page instead.
How this review was done, and its limits
This review rests on two official Zoho pages and nothing else:
- the Zoho Projects product page (zoho.com/projects/), retrieved 2026-11-07
- the Zoho Projects pricing page (zoho.com/projects/zohoprojects-pricing.html), retrieved 2026-11-07
No hands-on testing was done. No account was created and no trial was started, so nothing here speaks to how any feature behaves in use, how fast it is, or whether it works as described. No Zoho documentation pages, help articles, release notes or third-party reviews were consulted. Where the two pages are silent or disagree, this review says so rather than filling the gap.
That means this is a review of what Zoho publishes about Zoho Projects, and of how well those published pages serve a buyer. It is not a verdict on the software’s quality.
The plan ladder in outline
The pricing page names four editions (zohoprojects-pricing.html, retrieved 2026-11-07):
| Edition | How the page frames it |
|---|---|
| Free | “Up to 5 users” |
| Premium | “Free Features +” |
| Enterprise | “Premium Features +”, flagged “Most Popular” |
| Ultimate | “Enterprise Features +” |
The page also states a 15-day free trial of any paid edition with no credit card required, and its FAQ adds that the trial covers “any of our three paid plans” and that Zoho does not ask for credit card information at sign-up, with new accounts starting on the free plan.
Separately from the four editions, the page lists a bundle called “Data-driven hybrid project management platform”, made up of Zoho Projects, Zoho Sprints, Zoho Analytics, Zoho WorkDrive, Zoho Notebook and Zoho Learn. Its only price is “Contact us”, so this review states no cost for it.
A narrowed angle, and why
This review was commissioned to answer what a small team pays for dependencies, time tracking and reporting. It cannot answer the first half of that, and the reason is specific rather than a research shortfall.
Zoho does not serve its Zoho Projects prices in any page this review could read. Five official URLs were tried on 2026-11-07: the pricing page, the same page under its alternate path, the plan comparison page, the EU domain’s copy of the pricing page, and the signup page for the Premium plan. Every one of them returned successfully, and not one contained a price. The comparison page is explicit about the shape of what is missing: it prints the row labels “Billed Annually” and “Billed Monthly” with the units “/user/month” and “/user” against each paid tier, and no figures (zoho.com/projects/pricing-comparison.html, retrieved 2026-11-07). The underlying page carries empty data-price attributes and names a projects-pricing-val.json file it loads values from, which was also requested and is not publicly reachable.
So the billing basis is established and published: Zoho Projects is sold per user per month, billed either annually or monthly, in four editions named Free, Premium, Enterprise and Ultimate. The rates are not. Rather than quote a figure from a secondary source or a cached screenshot, this review narrows to what the official pages do establish: what each tier gives a small team for dependencies, time tracking and reporting, so that a buyer knows exactly which edition their requirements land on before they ask Zoho what it costs.
That is a smaller answer than the question asked for, and it is the honest one. A reader who needs a number must get it from Zoho directly, and this review says so rather than implying the research simply stopped.
The headline cost finding: Zoho’s pricing page gave us no prices
The pricing page as retrieved on 2026-11-07 carried the plan names, the feature lists, a Monthly/Yearly toggle and the claim “Yearly - Save over 15%”, but no per-user rate for any edition. Not for Premium, not for Enterprise, not for Ultimate. One savings line on the same page appears with the figure missing altogether, reading “Yearly - Save /user/year”.
We are not treating that as a reason to say nothing about cost. We are treating it as the cost finding. On the page Zoho directs buyers to for pricing, as retrieved and dated above, there was no per-seat number to quote, compare or check. A team lead who needs a budget figure before a meeting cannot get one from that page as read; they have to start a trial, contact sales at the address the page gives, or go looking at second-hand sources.
It is possible the rates are rendered by script after page load, or vary by region, and simply were not present in the text we retrieved. That possibility does not help the buyer, and it is not something these two pages settle.
Why no worked price example appears in this review
This publication’s standard for a price example is that a reader can check it: the seat count, the billing basis (per user per month, billed monthly or annually) and the arithmetic, shown in full. That standard cannot be met without a published per-user rate.
So no team total appears anywhere in this review - not for five seats, not for ten, not for any seat count - and no monthly or annual figure is implied. A rate quoted on a comparison site, in a vendor deck or in an older article may well be accurate, but these two pages do not confirm it, and nothing in this review should be read as corroborating it. Any number a reader brings from elsewhere needs its own source and its own retrieval date.
What each tier gives you, for the three things that matter
The plan comparison page sets out the four editions in order, Free, Premium, Enterprise and Ultimate, and marks each feature per edition (zoho.com/projects/pricing-comparison.html, retrieved 2026-11-07). The three capabilities this review was asked about step as follows.
Dependencies. Free is not without them, which is unusual: it carries task dependency “Within project (Finish-to-Start)”, meaning the single most common link type, inside one project only. Premium widens that to “Within project (All four types)”, so start-to-start, finish-to-finish and start-to-finish become available but still only inside a project. Enterprise and Ultimate both give “Across projects (All four types)”. The two features a scheduler would reach for next are gated higher: Critical Path is absent on Free and Premium and present on Enterprise and Ultimate, and Baseline is likewise Enterprise and above, capped at 15 per project, with multiple baseline support on the same two tiers.
For a small team, the practical line is this. If your dependencies live inside one project and finish-to-start is enough, Free covers it. If you need the other three link types, Premium. If you schedule across projects, or you want a critical path or a baseline to measure slippage against, you are on Enterprise.
Time tracking. This is the clearest gate of the three: timesheets are absent on Free entirely, and present on Premium, Enterprise and Ultimate. Timelog and timesheet approval, and time log restriction, follow exactly the same pattern. Multi user multi project timesheets are Ultimate only. So any team that needs to record time at all is on a paid tier from day one, and the entry paid tier covers approval workflow as well as capture.
Reporting. Three rows move together. The report row reads absent on Free, “Project-specific” on Premium, and “Across Projects” on Enterprise and Ultimate. Planned versus actual reporting and the workload report follow the same three-step shape. Earned value management and project budgeting are absent on Free and present from Premium.
The consequence is that Free gives a small team no reporting at all, Premium gives it reporting one project at a time, and cross-project roll-up begins at Enterprise. A five-person team running three client projects who wants one view across all three is on the third tier, not the second.
The user model, which interacts with all three. Read-only users appear only at Enterprise, where there are 10, rising to 100 on Ultimate. Client users are available on Premium and above but only “Can be purchased as add-ons”, as are lite users on Ultimate and resources on Enterprise. Storage runs 5 GB on Free, 100 GB on Premium, 120 GB on Enterprise, and on Ultimate “15GB per user or 150GB per organisation (whichever is higher)”. Custom profiles and roles, and user hierarchy, are Enterprise and above.
So client access is not included at any tier. It is an add-on whose price, like every other price here, is not published on the pages read.
Dependencies: what each tier allows
Task dependencies are the clearest example of a capability that exists on every tier but means something different on each. From the plan comparison table (zohoprojects-pricing.html, retrieved 2026-11-07):
| Edition | Task Dependency |
|---|---|
| Free | Within project (Finish-to-Start) |
| Premium | Within project (all four types) |
| Enterprise | Across projects (all four types) |
| Ultimate | Across projects (all four types) |
Two gates sit in that column. The first is at Premium: on Free you can only link a task so that one finishes before the next starts, which covers simple sequential plans and nothing else. The second is at Enterprise, and it is about scope rather than type - linking tasks that live in different projects is an Enterprise purchase. Ultimate adds nothing here.
The same table puts Critical Path and Baseline at Enterprise, absent on both Free and Premium. So the ability to link tasks and the ability to analyse what that linking implies for the schedule are separated by two tiers. A Premium buyer can build a dependency network with all four relationship types inside a project, but cannot ask the product which chain is driving the end date, or compare the current schedule against an agreed baseline, until they move to Enterprise.
Time tracking: the first paid gate
The product page describes time tracking in some detail: billable and non-billable hours logged through the timesheet module, manually or with timers, and automatic invoice generation through the built-in Zoho Invoice integration (zoho.com/projects/, retrieved 2026-11-07).
The pricing page then places it. In the comparison table, Time tracking is marked absent on Free and present from Premium upward. The Premium plan card adds Time Logs and Timesheets and Timesheet Multi-Level Approvals, and the Ultimate card is where Multi-User & Multi-Project Timesheets first appears (zohoprojects-pricing.html, retrieved 2026-11-07). The related in-house integrations follow the same pattern: Zoho Books & Invoice and Zoho Billing are marked absent on Free and present from Premium up, so the invoicing workflow the product page promotes is also behind the first paid gate.
This is worth naming as a problem with the pages rather than with the product. The product page devotes a feature block to logging every minute with timesheets and never says the capability is paid-only. A reader who arrives on that page, likes what it describes and signs up for the free plan will not learn from it that time tracking is the feature they just failed to get. Only the pricing table carries that information, and the two pages do not cross-reference each other on it.
Reporting: thin on Free, stepped across three tiers
Reporting is spread deliberately up the ladder. From the comparison table and plan cards (zohoprojects-pricing.html, retrieved 2026-11-07):
| Capability | Free | Premium | Enterprise | Ultimate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gantt chart | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Advanced Task / Issue Reports | Basic | Advanced | Advanced | Advanced |
| Workload Report | Absent | Project-specific | Across Projects | Across Projects |
| Portfolio Dashboard | Absent | Absent | Yes | Yes |
| Power BI integration | Absent | Absent | Yes | Yes |
| Unlimited Custom Dashboards | Absent | Absent | Absent | Yes |
The Gantt chart is the one visual that reaches the free tier, which is consistent with the product page’s FAQ claim that the free version lets you schedule work items using the Gantt chart. Everything else steps up. Resource visibility in particular is a three-stage climb: nothing on Free, one project at a time on Premium, and only at Enterprise can a manager see workload across projects, which is usually the question a team lead is actually asking.
One gap to flag at the point it matters: the pages do not define what separates a “Basic” task and issue report from an “Advanced” one. The table uses both words as cell values and neither page explains the difference, so a buyer cannot tell from these pages whether the Free tier’s reporting is merely narrower or substantially unusable for their purpose.
Where the pricing page contradicts itself on the Free plan
The Free edition’s project limit is stated twice on the pricing page, and a third statement on the same page conflicts with both.
- The Free plan card lists “3 Projects”.
- The comparison table’s Projects row gives Free as “3”.
- The FAQ answer to “What happens when I downgrade my account?” says: “When you downgrade to a free plan, you have access to two projects with limited features.”
All three come from the same page (zohoprojects-pricing.html, retrieved 2026-11-07). This review does not pick between them. It is possible the FAQ is simply out of date, and it is also possible that a downgraded account is genuinely treated differently from a new free signup, in which case both statements could be correct and the page just never says so. The pages as read do not settle which.
For a prospective buyer, the reading to confirm before relying on it is the one that bites: whether a new free account gets three projects or two, and whether the number changes if they ever trial a paid edition and then drop back to Free. If a three-project ceiling is the difference between the free plan working and not working, that is a question for Zoho sales rather than something to infer from the page.
Other limits a buyer should read off the page, and the ones not stated
The published numbers (zohoprojects-pricing.html, retrieved 2026-11-07):
| Limit | Free | Premium | Enterprise | Ultimate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Storage space | 5 GB | 100 GB | 120 GB | Starts at 150 GB/org |
| Project templates | Not available | 20 | 30 | 50 |
| Read-only users | Not available | Not available | 10 | 100 |
| Workflow actions per month | 50 | 5,000 | 50,000 | 500,000 |
| Business calendars and holiday lists | Not stated | 1 | 3 | 20 |
The Ultimate storage figure is expressed two ways on the same page, and they are compatible rather than contradictory: the comparison table says “Starts at 150 GB/org” and the Ultimate plan card says “15 GB storage per user (min 150 GB/org)”. A buyer should read it as per-seat storage with an organisation floor, which means Ultimate storage grows with headcount while the other tiers are flat allowances.
Two items are marked as add-ons without a price. Resources, described on the Enterprise card as adding and tracking equipment used in project activities, is labelled “(Add-on)” there, while the Ultimate card lists “100 Resources” outright. Lite User, described on the Ultimate card as a user who can view Tasks, Bugs and Phases and add time logs and timesheets, is also labelled “(Add-on)”. No add-on pricing appears anywhere on the page, so the cost of either is unknown from what was read.
Two absences are worth stating as findings in their own right. The page publishes no maximum user count for any paid edition - the “Up to 5 users” cap is stated only for Free - so a buyer cannot tell from the page whether the paid tiers have seat ceilings at all. And since no per-seat rate is published either, none of the per-user limits above can be turned into a cost. A buyer can learn exactly what Ultimate’s storage formula is, and still not learn what Ultimate costs.
Security, support and administrative claims as stated
From the product page (zoho.com/projects/, retrieved 2026-11-07), presented as vendor claims rather than verified facts: ISO 27001 “enterprise-grade security”, 4.5 M+ projects on Zoho Projects, and 50+ integrations via marketplace. None of these is substantiated on the page, and no certificate, scope statement or audit date is given for the ISO claim.
From the pricing page (zohoprojects-pricing.html, retrieved 2026-11-07):
- Single Sign-On (SSO) and Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) both first appear on the Enterprise card. A team with an SSO mandate therefore cannot satisfy it on Premium.
- Sandbox and User Hierarchy also start at Enterprise.
- Support: the page lists live chat 24/5, phone support 24/5, remote assistance, product onboarding and configuration assistance under a banner reading “GET PREMIUM SUPPORT”. The page does not say what premium support costs, nor which of those channels, if any, are included with a paid edition at no extra charge. It gives sales@zohocorp.com for sales enquiries.
- Languages: 25+ supported, with the FAQ naming Arabic, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English (US), French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Korean, Turkish, Ukrainian, Croatian, Thai, Bulgarian, Vietnamese, Hindi and Hebrew.
- Payment: Visa, MasterCard and American Express, plus PayPal or wire transfer for yearly subscriptions.
- Commitment: no long-term contract, licences described as not contract-based, cancellable at any time.
- Changing plans: pay-as-you-go, monthly or yearly, with upgrades and downgrades available at any time “provided you are the portal owner”. The FAQ adds that downgrading loses access to higher-plan features but not the underlying data, which becomes accessible again on upgrading.
The support gap is the one to watch. On a tool a team depends on daily, whether phone and chat support are included or chargeable is a real line in the budget, and the page as read does not answer it.
Who the plan ladder actually suits
Judged strictly on the published feature gates, and with no price to weigh against them:
Free suits a team of five or fewer doing simple sequential planning. Finish-to-Start dependencies within a project, a Gantt chart, subtasks, task management, document sharing, custom statuses, whiteboard and 50 workflow actions a month is a real working set. But Free has no time tracking, no budgeting, no workload report, no task duration in hours or days, no custom views, no project templates and no read-only users, and its project count is the figure the page contradicts itself on. It is a plan for coordinating work, not for measuring or billing it.
Premium is where any team that bills hours has to start. Time logs, timesheets, multi-level timesheet approvals, project budget and EVM, and the Zoho Books and Invoice connection all begin there, as do all four dependency types within a project and the project-specific workload report. For a small agency or consultancy, the first paid tier is not optional - it is the floor.
Enterprise is pulled in by cross-project work and by IT requirements. Dependencies across projects, Critical Path, Baseline, custom fields, custom profiles and roles, the portfolio dashboard, across-projects workload, Power BI, SSO and 2FA are all Enterprise-and-above. Any buyer running a portfolio rather than a handful of projects, or working under an SSO policy, lands here regardless of team size.
Ultimate is narrower than the others. Its distinguishing items are per-user storage, 100 read-only users, 100 resources, unlimited custom dashboards, multi-user and multi-project timesheets, DAP integration and 500,000 workflow actions a month. That reads as a large-organisation tier - heavy timesheet administration, many view-only stakeholders, high automation volume.
That verdict stops at feature availability, and deliberately so. Fit is a question of whether what you get is worth what you pay, and half of that equation is missing: no per-seat rate is published on the page Zoho points buyers to, and no hands-on evidence exists here about how any of these features perform. A team lead can use this ladder to work out which tier they are forced onto. They cannot use it to work out whether that tier is good value, and they should not take a recommendation on that from anyone who has neither a dated price nor time with the product.