Head-to-head research

Published

Corner ANotionVSCorner BClickUp

A like for like look at Notion and ClickUp for one 10-person team that wants documents and project work in the same tool, built only from our two approved reviews and the vendor pricing pages read on 2026-11-08.

The recommendation up front

The deciding factor for Notion is the permission model. Our Notion review documents teamspaces as “dedicated spaces for every team”, each with “its own members and permission levels” (notion.com/help/sharing-and-permissions, checked 2026-11-08). It documents databases as showing the same content as a table, board, calendar or timeline depending on the view, so a project tracker and a doc library are one object type rather than two products (notion.com/help/intro-to-databases, retrieved 2026-11-07). If your 10 people mainly want shared documents and a few databases governed by one page-level permission model, that is the case for Notion.

The deciding factor for ClickUp is breadth inside one product, and the plan that delivers it is Business. Our ClickUp review documents Docs, Whiteboards, Chat, Forms, Dashboards and more than a dozen work views as native parts of the same product a task already lives in (clickup.com/features, checked September 2026). ClickUp’s own help documentation sets the plan line. Dashboards are a trial on Core and “Unlimited uses” on Business (help.clickup.com, “Dashboards feature availability and limits”, article 21257864098071, checked 2026-11-08). Automation rules are capped at 500 on Core and unlimited on Business (help.clickup.com, “Automations feature availability and limits”, article 23477062949911, checked 2026-11-08). If your 10 people want to retire separate chat, docs and reporting subscriptions, that is the case for ClickUp, and it is a Business case rather than a Core one.

What a team on the fence should test before buying is in the final section. In short: on Notion, get the multi-member Free block limit in writing, because the vendor publishes no number, and decide for yourselves whether seven view layouts plus templates you maintain are enough reporting for a 10-person portfolio, because Notion documents no workload or capacity feature. On ClickUp, get the currency and the price after the promotional yearly rate in writing, because the pricing page states neither. Then check one thing in your own account. ClickUp is rolling its Workspaces onto a new set of plans and says not all of them have been upgraded yet. Confirm which plan your Workspace is actually on before you price anything (help.clickup.com, “Pricing per user role and plan”, article 6303244318999, checked 2026-11-08). The figures below cover the plans ClickUp prices in public: Free Forever, Core, Business, Enterprise and Max, the last at $100 a user a month promotional against a $120 regular price. A sixth tier, Business Plus, runs through the help documentation and lifts two limits that matter below, but has no public price.

No overall winner, no score and no ranking is given here. The two reviews do not support one.

The fixed scenario, and what this comparison is built from

One team, held constant throughout: 10 people, 10 paid seats, documents and project work in the same tool.

This piece draws only on two things. The first is this publication’s own approved reviews of Notion and ClickUp, each of which attributes its claims to a vendor page and a retrieval date. The second is the two vendor pricing pages, notion.com/pricing and clickup.com/pricing, read in a browser on 2026-11-08.

Neither product was used. There is no trial, no screenshot, no measurement and no observed behaviour anywhere in this article. Where the two reviews answer the same question, they are compared. Where only one of them settles something, that is said plainly and the other side is left blank rather than guessed at.

The question both reviews do answer

Both reviews settle the same narrow point: project work and documentation can live in one product in each case, and each review documents how.

On the Notion side, the project surface is databases configured for the purpose rather than a separate module. Our Notion review notes that neither the pricing page nor the help centre landing page describes a dedicated project module, and that project work appears to be databases configured for the purpose (notion.com/pricing and notion.com/help, retrieved 2026-11-07). The pricing page lists databases “including subtasks, dependencies, custom properties and more”, pages built from blocks, teamspaces, forms and dashboards that “bring charts, tables, and lists into one dashboard”.

On the ClickUp side, the documents are their own object and attach to the work. Our ClickUp review documents a Doc that links to the task or project it describes, with nested subpages for a longer specification. It adds real time editing with live cursors and inline comments, version history with rollback to any earlier state, and per document permissions for view, comment or edit (clickup.com/features/docs, checked 2026-11-08).

So both products put the two kinds of work in one place. They do it differently: Notion by making the doc and the tracker the same kind of object, ClickUp by making the doc a distinct object that links to the task. That difference is documented on both sides. Which one feels better to use is not, because neither review involved using either product.

The structure each team has to learn

Notion’s model is pages and blocks, where a block is “any single piece of content you add to your page, like a paragraph of text, a to-do item, an image, a code block, an embedded file”, with databases on top and teamspaces, open, closed or private, separating one team’s area from another’s (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07). Permissions are per page, in six documented steps: Full access, Can edit, Can edit content, Can create, Can comment and Can view. The middle two apply only to database pages, and “Can create” needs Business or Enterprise (notion.com/help/sharing-and-permissions, checked 2026-11-08).

ClickUp’s model is a named hierarchy with one optional layer. A Workspace “contains your entire organization and all of your work”. Spaces “arrange your different workflows or types of work”. Folders “add an optional Hierarchy layer” and house Lists. Lists “contain tasks that are part of the same project or goal” (help.clickup.com, “Intro to the Hierarchy”, article 13856392825367, checked 2026-11-08).

Our ClickUp review names this as ClickUp’s biggest early cost in its own words: a new team has to learn Workspace, Space, Folder, List and task before that breadth becomes useful rather than overwhelming. For a 10-person team, that is the honest tradeoff. Notion asks you to design access page by page and teamspace by teamspace. ClickUp asks you to learn a hierarchy first. Neither review measures how long either takes.

Illustrative walkthrough

What follows is assembled from the two reviews to show how the documented pieces connect for one project moving through five steps. It is not a project anyone ran, watched or configured. Nothing in it is a test result, and where a review does not document a step, the gap is stated rather than filled.

Step 1: write the brief

Out of the box. On Notion, a page built from blocks, sitting inside a teamspace that has its own members and permission levels, with six per page permission steps including “Can comment” for feedback without edit rights (notion.com/pricing and notion.com/help/sharing-and-permissions, checked 2026-11-08). On ClickUp, a Doc that links to the task or project it describes, with nested subpages, real time multi editor editing with live cursors, inline comments, and per document permissions for view, comment or edit (clickup.com/features/docs, checked 2026-11-08).

What the team builds or maintains itself. On Notion, the access design. Our Notion review’s own conclusion is that project work and documentation genuinely share one permission model, but that the model is page scoped and teamspace scoped rather than project scoped, so access has to be designed rather than assumed. On ClickUp, the placement decision: which Space, and whether a Folder layer is needed at all, since the Folder level is explicitly optional (help.clickup.com, “Intro to the Hierarchy”, article 13856392825367, checked 2026-11-08).

What would make the team outgrow it. On Notion, two documented ceilings bite early on Free: file uploads of “Up to 5 MB” each against “Up to 5 GB” on the paid tiers, and the page history ladder set out below (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07). Our Notion review names the 5 MB cap as ruling out circulating almost any video, design export or large PDF. On ClickUp the cap is on wikis, not Docs. Docs are unmetered on every plan. Wikis are not: “Free Forever and Business Plans can create one wiki per Workspace”, and only “Business Plus Plans can create unlimited wikis”. The pricing table shows Doc Wikis as “1 max” on Free Forever, Core and Business alike (help.clickup.com, “Create a wiki”, article 22082137400471, and clickup.com/pricing, both checked 2026-11-08). Business is recommended below, so a 10-person team gets unlimited Docs and one wiki. A wiki per department or client means Business Plus, which has no public price. Worth knowing where that cap is not written down: ClickUp’s Docs feature page invites you to link “a wiki to a team” and never mentions a limit (clickup.com/features/docs, checked 2026-11-08). The cap appears only in the help documentation and the pricing comparison table, so a team planning around wikis should check those two rather than the feature page.

Step 2: assign tasks

Out of the box. On Notion, databases including subtasks, dependencies, custom properties and filtering, shown across all four plans (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07). On ClickUp, a task that can carry more than one assignee at once (clickup.com/features/tasks and clickup.com/features/multiple-assignees, checked September 2026), Custom Statuses that let a team define its own named workflow stages such as “In progress” or “In review” (clickup.com/features/custom-task-statuses), custom fields with dropdown, numeric, contact and estimation style types (clickup.com/features/custom-fields), and “blocking” and “waiting on” dependencies (clickup.com/features/dependencies).

What the team builds or maintains itself. On Notion, the database schema and the views over it. On ClickUp, the status model and the field set, plus the per List or per project setting that controls whether multiple assignees are allowed at all, which our ClickUp review describes as customisable “to avoid having multiple assignees when they aren’t needed”.

What would make the team outgrow it. Two unknowns sit here, one on each side, and they are not the same unknown.

Neither review documents how Notion’s database views behave at the scale of a real project portfolio. Our Notion review says so directly: a buyer cannot tell from its sources whether the database approach is comfortable at that scale. That is unknown for Notion.

Our ClickUp review could not confirm whether a custom status or custom field defined at the List level can be shared by other Lists in the same Folder or Space, or whether it has to be recreated on each List. The custom fields page describes fields as belonging to “each project” without stating the scope precisely, and the feature page describes fields as belonging to “each project” without stating the scope (clickup.com/features/custom-fields, checked September 2026). The help documentation does answer it, below.

Neither unknown can be filled in from the other side, and neither is presented as settled.

Step 3: track deadlines

Out of the box. On Notion, the same database shown as a calendar or timeline view depending on the view chosen (notion.com/help/intro-to-databases, retrieved 2026-11-07), plus Notion Calendar, to “connect multiple Calendars to manage work and time together” (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07). On ClickUp, Calendar, Gantt and Timeline among the named views, with a Gantt view that lays out tasks and their dependencies across a timeline (clickup.com/features/views, checked September 2026).

What the team builds or maintains itself. The views themselves in both cases, and on ClickUp the dependency links that a Gantt view would draw on.

What would make the team outgrow it. This is the step where the comparison fails on both sides at once, and it is worth saying bluntly. Our ClickUp review records that no accessible ClickUp source states a maximum number of dependencies a single task can carry, or how a Gantt view visually flags a scheduling conflict created by one. Our Notion review gives no behaviour detail for Notion’s views at all, only that they exist. So deadline tracking quality is undocumented on both sides and no comparison is made. If deadline mechanics are the thing your team is choosing on, neither review can decide it for you.

Step 4: record decisions

Out of the box. On Notion, page history of 7 days on Free, 30 days on Plus, 90 days on Business and “Custom” on Enterprise, plus page verification that adds “a verified badge to pages that are up to date”, which the pricing page places on the Business card (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07). On ClickUp, Doc version history that tracks every change and allows a rollback to any earlier state, and a comment inside a Doc that can be converted into a task with one click (clickup.com/features/docs, checked September 2026). ClickUp Chat adds channels, direct messages, threads and “Posts”. A message converts into a task in one click, and “Sync Threads to Tasks” keeps a task’s comments and a chat conversation aligned, so a decision made in chat is not retyped onto the task (clickup.com/features/chat, checked September 2026).

What the team builds or maintains itself. On Notion, the habit of keeping decisions on pages that are inside the retention window you are paying for, and on Business, the verification routine itself. On ClickUp, the discipline of converting the decision into a task rather than leaving it in a thread.

What would make the team outgrow it. Notion’s history window is quantified and short at the bottom: our Notion review calls 7 days a very short window in which to notice and undo damage to a shared plan document. ClickUp’s side is not quantified at all: our ClickUp review documents rollback to any earlier state but no retention window, so the two retention figures cannot be compared, because only one of them exists in our sources.

Chat is a plan feature, and the plan decides what it does. Our ClickUp review quotes the Chat feature page saying “ClickUp Chat is free for now. Certain restrictions may apply later” (clickup.com/features/chat, checked September 2026), which reads as though a separate price is coming. ClickUp’s help documentation describes something different, and more useful: Chat is already a plan feature whose limits are set per plan (help.clickup.com, “Chat feature availability and limits”, article 29776622610199, checked 2026-11-08).

Free Forever gets 1,000 messages in total, shared across the whole Workspace, and the documentation says that limit “does not reset”. It also caps message history at 90 days and allows 30 Posts, again without resetting. Core and Business both get unlimited messages, unlimited message history, scheduled messages and Posts. Chat data retention is Enterprise only.

For a 10-person team the practical reading is that retiring a separate chat subscription means Core at the least. A thousand messages shared across ten people is a few weeks of ordinary use, and a 90-day history window loses the decisions you most want to look up later. No separate Chat price appears anywhere in the published documentation, and no date is given at which one starts, so the thing to plan around is the per-plan limit rather than a future invoice.

Step 5: report what is slipping

Out of the box. On ClickUp, a dashboard with “60+ cards for every team”, mixing charts, tables, Workload view data and time tracking totals on one resizable canvas. It reads live data rather than a cached snapshot, and a user can change a task’s status, reassign its owner or edit a field from a card (clickup.com/features/dashboards, checked 2026-11-08). On Notion, charts and dashboards that “bring charts, tables, and lists into one dashboard”, with the comparison table giving Free a value of 1 for charts. The plan gate is the point here: dashboards are ticked on Business and Enterprise only, never on Free or Plus, and so are Custom Agents (notion.com/pricing, checked 2026-11-08). On both products, reporting inside the tool means the second paid tier.

What the team builds or maintains itself. The dashboard or chart set in both cases.

What would make the team outgrow it. On ClickUp, the plan. Our ClickUp review records that the pricing page marks Dashboards as a limited “Trial” feature on both Free Forever and the Unlimited plan, and that only Business and Enterprise get the unlimited version the feature page describes (clickup.com/pricing, checked September 2026). It also warns that a team evaluating ClickUp on Unlimited should not assume it has tested Dashboards at the level a paying Business customer would get. On Notion, the same gate is the Business plan.

Outside people: guests, members and seats

This is the one place where both reviews answer the same question in real detail, which makes it the most comparable section in the article.

On Notion, guests are free and narrow. “Guests are free of charge - but they can only access individual pages they are invited to”, and “guests won’t be able to see all the team pages under the Teamspaces section in the left sidebar” (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07). The Free plan carries an external guest limit of 10; the paid tiers show a tick rather than a number, so Notion publishes a figure for Free and none above it. Two further rules decide the bill. “People who use one of your organization’s domains are added as members, not guests, whether they join here or you share a page with them”, and are “billed accordingly” (notion.com/help/add-members-admins-guests-and-groups, retrieved 2026-11-07). And one exemption is narrower than it looks. Notion documents the temporary member role for a single case: “If you work with a Notion Marketplace consultant, you can grant them time-limited access to your workspace as a temporary member.” They get member access until an expiry date, and “temporary members don’t use a paid seat” (same page). It is not a general unpaid seat for contractors.

On ClickUp, a paid Workspace gets “unlimited read-only guests”, and the guest seats that can create or edit are counted and scale by plan. The current figures, under the current plan names, are in the settled list below. Free Forever is different in kind: every guest gets full create and edit access by default, with no separate lower privilege guest role stated on the pricing page, which our ClickUp review flags as a governance concern for a team that needs to restrict what an external guest can change.

The like for like reading for a 10-person team is this. Notion makes outside people free but page scoped, and charges the moment someone carries your domain or needs workspace wide visibility. ClickUp makes outside viewers free and unlimited on paid plans, and meters the ones who need to create or edit.

On the ClickUp side both halves are documented: the seat arithmetic above, and what a guest can reach, set out later in this article.

Pricing for 10 paid members

All figures below come from notion.com/pricing and clickup.com/pricing, read in a browser on 2026-11-08. Monthly billing and annual billing are kept in separate rows.

Tool and plan Currency Billing basis Per seat 10 seats, per month 10 seats, per year
Notion Plus, billed yearly USD, stated on the page per seat per month $10 $100 $1,200
Notion Plus, billed monthly USD, stated on the page per seat per month $12 $120 $1,440
Notion Business, billed yearly USD, stated on the page per seat per month $20 $200 $2,400
Notion Business, billed monthly USD, stated on the page per seat per month $24 $240 $2,880
ClickUp Core, billed yearly, promotional rate not stated by the vendor per user per month $9 $90 $1,080
ClickUp Core, billed yearly, regular price shown not stated by the vendor per user per month $12 $120 $1,440
ClickUp Core, billed monthly not stated by the vendor per user per month $12 $120 $1,440
ClickUp Business, billed yearly, promotional rate not stated by the vendor per user per month $17 $170 $2,040
ClickUp Business, billed yearly, regular price shown not stated by the vendor per user per month $25 $250 $3,000
ClickUp Business, billed monthly not stated by the vendor per user per month $25 $250 $3,000

Notion’s page carries a “Pay monthly / Pay yearly” toggle and the line “Save up to 20% with yearly”. ClickUp’s page carries a Monthly / Yearly toggle and the line “Save up to 33% with yearly”, and its yearly column shows a promotional figure above a struck regular price, which is why ClickUp has two annual rows per plan here rather than one. Both plans also have a free tier: Notion Free at $0 per seat per month, and ClickUp Free Forever at $0 with unlimited tasks, unlimited free members, collaborative docs, Kanban, calendar, sprint management, time tracking and 60 MB storage (notion.com/pricing and clickup.com/pricing, read 2026-11-08). Notion Enterprise is custom pricing with a contact sales route, and ClickUp Enterprise has no published price.

Which plan carries the recommendation. For Notion, Plus is the lowest verifiable plan for the docs plus databases workflow our review calls its natural fit, at $10 a seat a month billed yearly. But dashboards, Custom Agents, granular database permissions, advanced teamspace permissions, SAML SSO, private teamspaces and page verification are all Business and above (notion.com/pricing, checked 2026-11-08). Step 5 is reporting what is slipping, so a team wanting that inside Notion is on Business at $20 a seat, not Plus. Both figures are in the table.

For ClickUp, the recommendation is priced at Business, for the reason in the short answer above: dashboards are only a trial on Core, so a 10-person team that wants reporting cannot have it there. The figures used here are Business figures. One wiki per Workspace is the limit that comes with that plan, and the section below sets it out.

Two limits sit inside that recommendation and are easy to miss, because the pricing page and the help documentation count different things. Read them together before committing.

What the pricing pages do not settle

ClickUp’s currency. The page names no currency anywhere in its visible content and carries no structured pricing data (clickup.com/pricing, read 2026-11-08). The ClickUp figures above are dollar amounts whose currency the vendor does not state. USD is not asserted for them.

ClickUp’s renewal price. The yearly column shows a promotional figure beside a regular price, but the page does not say when the promotion ends or what renewal costs (clickup.com/pricing, read 2026-11-08). So the ongoing price is unknown. It should not be assumed that the promotional rate continues, and it should not be assumed that it reverts. What that does to the recommendation is concrete: a 10-person ClickUp Business commitment is a range of roughly $2,040 to $3,000 a year on the published figures, not a number, and a team that cannot tolerate the top of that range should get the renewal price in writing before signing.

Why these totals are not ranked against each other. The table lists each vendor’s figures as that vendor displays them, and stops there.

Notion’s figures are in USD, stated on its own page, and they are the price currently listed. Nothing on the page promises that price continues, and this article does not either.

ClickUp displays two annual figures for each paid plan, a promotional rate and a regular price, and the article lists both because both are displayed. Neither is in a currency the vendor states, and the page does not say when the promotion ends or which figure applies at renewal.

So a ClickUp annual figure and a Notion annual figure cannot be placed in order against each other here. Doing so would require assuming ClickUp’s currency matches Notion’s and assuming which ClickUp figure a buyer would actually pay, and neither assumption is supported by anything read. What a buyer can do is take each vendor’s own displayed figures, confirm ClickUp’s currency and renewal price directly, and only then compare.

AI is inside both products now, and metered. Our ClickUp review records Brain AI at $9 a user a month and Everything AI at $28 as separate subscriptions. ClickUp no longer sells it that way: the page read on 2026-11-08 says “AI is included”, with pooled allowances of 500 credits a workspace on Free Forever and 1,000, 1,500, 3,000 and 10,000 a user a month on Core, Business, Enterprise and Max. The only AI price is the top-up, $10 per 10,000 credits. So do not add a per seat AI subscription back into a ClickUp total; budget for running past a pooled allowance instead.

Notion meters it differently. Business includes 1,500 Standard and 500 Select credits a seat a month, Free and Plus get a “Limited Trial” of Standard credits only (notion.com/pricing, checked 2026-11-08). Extra credits are sold as “Custom credit amounts” with no published rate, so an overage cannot be priced. Notion does publish consumption, “about 5 credits” for a simple task, 10 for a medium one and 25 for a complex one, and its credits are per member and cannot be pooled or transferred (notion.com/help/manage-your-ai-credits, checked 2026-11-08). No allowance is in any total.

Where the plan carrying the feature is above the cheapest plan

For Notion, the upgrade triggers our review documents for this team are governance ones. SAML SSO, private teamspaces and page verification sit on the Business card, and so do dashboards, Custom Agents, Workers and granular database permissions (notion.com/pricing, checked 2026-11-08). Private teamspaces are teamspaces “that can’t be seen or discovered by anyone except those you add”, suggested for “company planning or performance reviews”. Our review reads the step from $10 to $20 a seat as a purchase of access control. On the current page that is too narrow: it also buys this team its reporting surface.

For ClickUp, the triggers our review documents are reporting and automation, and this is where the recommendation has to become conditional.

Our ClickUp review, written in September 2026, records unlimited dashboards and unlimited active automation rules as Business and up, The help documentation confirms the dashboards half. On automation ClickUp’s own two pages disagree, and part of the gap is a unit.

One maintenance detail belongs with this, because it is the kind of thing a team discovers after it has standardised. A ClickUp Custom Field is genuinely shared. The documentation says “You can use the same Custom Field in multiple locations”, so one field defined once can sit on Lists across a Space (help.clickup.com, “Intro to Custom Fields”, article 6303536766231, checked 2026-11-08). Statuses work differently. They are reusable through status templates on every plan, but editing a template does not update the places already using it. The documentation is explicit: the change applies only where you made it, and “Other locations that use the same status template will no longer use the status template. They will keep their current statuses which will be labeled Custom” (help.clickup.com, “Status templates”, article 6309533958935, checked 2026-11-08). So a 10-person team that wants one workflow everywhere should expect to reapply a status change by hand in each location.

Automation rules and automation actions are two different things. An automation rule is a thing you build once and leave switched on. An action is a single thing a rule does when it fires. ClickUp caps them separately, in the automations article cited above:

Plan Active automation rules Actions per month
Free Forever 5 100
Core 500 1,000
Business Unlimited 10,000
Enterprise Unlimited 1,000,000 on new plans

So the pricing page’s “10K Automations / mo” on Business is the monthly action allowance, not a cap on rules, and its table labels the unit “actions / workspace / month”, making it per Workspace rather than per seat.

The units do not explain the rest. That same table has a separate Automation Active Rules row, and against Core it reads “Unlimited”, where the help article says 500 (clickup.com/pricing and the automations article above, both read 2026-11-08). Same unit, same plan, two answers. We will not pick a side: the table above uses the help figure as the more specific page, and a team sizing on rule count should get that number in writing. A team buying for reporting need not wait, since dashboards are a trial on Core and included on Business on both pages.

What happens at the action limit is the part to plan around. ClickUp’s help documentation states that when the limit has been exceeded, “your Workspace’s Automations are paused for that month”. Not throttled, not billed for overage: paused, for everyone, until the first of the next month, when allowances reset. Owners and admins get warning emails at 90% and 100% of the allowance. Business cannot buy its way out either: the option to purchase more actions starts at Business Plus. For a 10-person team that is the number to model, because 10,000 actions a month is roughly 333 a day across the whole Workspace, and a few busy rules firing on every task update can reach that.

Dashboards are unlimited in number on Business, which is not the same as unlimited in every respect. ClickUp’s help documentation counts dashboard “uses”, meaning creating a dashboard or a dashboard view, viewing one, and adding, editing or removing a card. Core gets a trial. Business gets “Unlimited uses”, as do Business Plus and Enterprise (the dashboards article cited above). Free Forever gets 60 uses and the older Unlimited plan 100, and those allowances do not reset, so they are a lifetime budget rather than a monthly one.

Two caps still apply on every plan, Business included: a maximum of 100 cards on any one dashboard, and 500 rows of cards per dashboard or overview. Scheduled reports are capped separately at 40 uses on Free Forever, Core and Business, where a use is one send to any number of recipients, and those also do not reset. Scheduled reports additionally count as active automations and draw on the monthly action allowance. So a team should read “unlimited” as unlimited dashboards, not as an unlimited reporting surface.

Custom roles with SAML SSO and SCIM provisioning being Enterprise only, and Google SSO starting at Business, come from the same September review and carry the same caveat: they were accurate against the plan names of that date and were not re-confirmed against the current ladder for this article (clickup.com/pricing and clickup.com/security, checked September 2026).

The rule this article follows: if your recommendation rests on any of those, it is priced at Business and not at the cheaper tier. For a 10-person team that means Notion at $200 a month billed yearly rather than $100. On ClickUp it means $170 a month promotional, or $250 a month at the regular price shown, rather than $90 (notion.com/pricing and clickup.com/pricing, read 2026-11-08).

A dating discrepancy a reader should see

Our ClickUp review, checked in September 2026, records the paid plans as Unlimited at $7 per user a month billed yearly and Business at $12 per user a month billed yearly. The pricing page read on 2026-11-08 shows Core and Business, at different figures, with a promotional yearly column beside a struck regular price.

This article uses the 2026-11-08 read for every price, and our ClickUp review for feature claims. We do not claim to know what changed or why.

The renaming does not hide Core’s limits, though. The help documentation names the two plans on one line: automations as “Unlimited and Core | 500 total active Automations | 1,000 Actions per month”, scheduled reports as “Unlimited and Core | 40 uses”, and Chat and Custom Fields likewise. Only dashboards differ, Unlimited getting 100 uses and Core a trial. So Core is not a mystery tier, and the recommendation is priced at Business for the reasons above.

What is settled here, and what is still open

Nothing in the unsettled list below is presented as a fact anywhere above.

For Notion: the multi-member Free block limit, which is not published anywhere, though the FAQ confirms a shared Free workspace “will be able to add a limited number of blocks before you have to upgrade” (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07); the rate for credits past a plan’s allowance, given only as “Custom credit amounts”; any Enterprise figure, published only as “Custom pricing”; and how the database approach behaves on a large workspace.

For ClickUp, two of the four questions our review left open are now answered, and two are not.

The guest permission model is documented. Paid plans have two guest types: view only guests, free and unlimited, and permission controlled guests, settable to view only, comment, edit or full edit. Seats included: Core 5 for a one-member Workspace plus 2 per member invited, Business 10 plus 5 per member, so a 10-person Business Workspace includes 55. Past that ClickUp adds a charged member seat. Guests cannot be invited to a Space or create dashboards, and anyone on your own domain or SSO cannot be a guest at all and is charged as a member (help.clickup.com, “Pricing per user role and plan”, article 6303244318999, and “Guest-type user roles”, article 6310022323991, both checked 2026-11-08).

Export is documented, and it is piecemeal rather than a backup. Task data goes to CSV per location; List, Table and dashboard card exports are “available on our Business Plan and above”, with the pricing table showing List View Exports as a trial on Core; and Docs export one at a time, because “Exporting all Docs in bulk from a Workspace is not yet available” (help.clickup.com, “How do I export my Workspace’s data?”, article 6310786693015, checked 2026-11-08). ClickUp’s guidance is to keep your own copy, because “You can’t restore individual items from a ClickUp backup” (help.clickup.com, “Backups and data retention”, article 43941086639383, checked 2026-11-08).

Two things remain unanswered. The exact reach of Enterprise’s “Granular Space Permissions” beyond its name is one. Whether a single dashboard can pull data from more than one Workspace at once is the other. Every dashboard page we read describes dashboards in Workspace terms, and the FAQ says “Dashboard cards show all statuses in the Workspace”. But no official page states whether cross-Workspace reporting is possible, so we are not treating that wording as an answer.

Notion, by contrast, offers workspace wide export to HTML, Markdown and CSV on every plan including Free (notion.com/pricing, checked 2026-11-08). So for a team thinking about how it would leave, Notion’s route out is the simpler one, and on ClickUp the tooling is another reason the recommendation sits on Business.

Which situation each product suits

Only as far as the two reviews support it:

Notion suits this team when shared documents plus databases under one page level permission model is the main need, and when the lift from Free is what matters most. That is our Notion review’s stated fit for Plus: small teams who mainly need shared docs plus databases, where the 5 MB upload cap lifts to 5 GB, page history goes to 30 days, and forms, sites, charts and database automations become customisable (notion.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-11-07). If the team needs SSO, private teamspaces or page verification, our review states there is no option below Business and no middle step.

ClickUp suits this team when it wants to retire separate chat, docs and reporting subscriptions and get all of them inside one product. That is our ClickUp review’s clearest stated fit, and the current pricing page supports the breadth claim: Docs, Chat, Whiteboards, Forms, dashboards and the work views are parts of the same product a task lives in.

The second half of that recommendation now has a clear plan line. Our review names a team that needs unlimited dashboards and heavier automation without an Enterprise quote. ClickUp’s help documentation puts both on Business. Active automation rules are unlimited there, against 500 on Core. Dashboard uses are unlimited too, against a trial on Core (help.clickup.com, articles 23477062949911 and 21257864098071, checked 2026-11-08).

So a team that wants dashboards at all is on Business, because Core only offers a trial of them. And a team whose automation is heavy should size the monthly action allowance rather than the rule count, because 10,000 actions a month is the Business ceiling and exceeding it pauses the Workspace’s automations until the next month.

Two of the review’s poor fits hold: a team wanting a simple, narrow tool, and a team wanting the heavier reporting without paying for Business. The third does not, since the guest documentation it called unreachable is set out above. In its place: a team wanting more than one wiki per Workspace without going past Business.

No winner, no score and no ranking is given. Nothing in this article reflects hands on use of either product.

What to test before buying

These are the checks this team can make for itself, each one aimed at something no source consulted here answers.

On Notion: ask Notion to confirm the multi-member Free plan block limit, since it is the single limit most likely to end a shared free trial and it is not quantified in public. Then, on a trial of your own, judge whether the view layouts and reporting feel workable for a 10-person portfolio. Notion documents seven layouts, including a chart view that draws bar, line and donut charts (notion.com/help/views-filters-and-sorts, checked 2026-11-08). Its own guidance for seeing who is working on what points at timeline view and at templates you build, not at a workload or capacity feature. Whether that is enough reporting is a judgement about your portfolio, not a missing fact. One detail is worth knowing before you trial it. A filter or sort you add to a shared view applies only to you unless you choose “Save for everyone”. So a team can look at the same view and see different things. If Custom Agents are part of the plan, remember they need Business, and ask what credits cost once the allowance runs out, because the page says only “Custom credit amounts”.

On ClickUp: get the currency in writing, because the pricing page states none. Get the price after the promotional yearly rate in writing, because the page shows a promotional figure beside a regular price without saying when the promotion ends or what renewal costs. Confirm which plan your own Workspace is on, because ClickUp says not all Workspaces have moved onto the new plans yet. If reporting across more than one Workspace matters to you, ask whether a single dashboard can do it, because no official page we read says either way. The guest permission model, the Core plan’s limits, Chat’s per-plan limits and the export tooling no longer belong on this list: they are documented, and this article states them above.