In-depth product review

monday.com review

A complete, evidence-led review of monday Work Management for buyers who do not yet use it, explaining how boards, columns, automations, dashboards, and Portfolio management actually work, with full pricing analysis and correct seat-bucket math.

monday.com sells four separately priced products from one pricing page: Work Management, CRM, Service, and Dev. This article covers Work Management only, the board-based platform most small and mid-sized teams mean when they say “monday.” Every plan, price, and limit below refers to Work Management, based on monday.com’s own published pricing, product, security, and developer documentation, dated throughout.

The short verdict

monday.com organizes work as boards you design yourself: rows of data, grouped however you choose, with columns that hold whatever information a team needs to track. That flexibility is the whole product, and it cuts both ways. A team that wants to shape its own workflow gets a genuinely adaptable tool. A team that wants a ready-made structure has to build one first.

The highest-value mechanics, task dependencies and native time tracking, sit on the Pro plan, two tiers above the cheapest paid option. A dedicated cross-project view, Portfolio management, sits on Enterprise alone. Buyers who need those specific capabilities should price the plan that actually includes them, not the plan with the lowest sticker price.

Because a board’s structure is not fixed, two teams using monday.com can end up with completely different setups for the same kind of work. That is a strength for a team that wants to match the tool to its own process, and a real setup cost for a team that expected a ready-made structure out of the box.

Type Team profile Why
Best fit A team whose work does not fit tasks and projects, such as a sales pipeline or a content calendar Boards, groups, and columns can be shaped to match almost any process, including connecting one board’s data to another
Best fit A team that wants ready-made automation recipes instead of building rules from scratch monday ships pre-built recipes a team can turn on immediately
Best fit A company that needs a wide privacy-compliance list monday’s trust center names Canadian, Brazilian, and Japanese frameworks
Poor fit A team that wants dependencies or time tracking on a budget plan Both require Pro, monday’s second most expensive plan
Poor fit A team that wants a formal cross-project view without paying for the top plan Portfolio management is Enterprise only, with no lower-tier equivalent
Poor fit A buyer that needs an exact seat-bucket price before budgeting a very small team The 3-seat minimum is confirmed, but the bucket sizes above it are not published

Who should use monday.com, and who should avoid it

monday.com is best for a team that wants to design its own board layout rather than adopt a fixed task-and-project structure. A sales pipeline, a content calendar, or an operations tracker with unusual stages can go directly onto a board without translating it into another product’s structure first. It suits a team that wants automation recipes it can turn on immediately, and a team willing to pay for Pro to unlock dependencies, time tracking, and a much larger monthly automation allowance.

A company with compliance needs outside the United States and Europe is also a good match. monday’s trust center names compliance with Canadian, Brazilian, and Japanese privacy laws, a wider regional list than many competitors publish.

A team that wants task dependencies or native time tracking on a low-cost plan should look closely at the numbers first. Both require Pro, not Basic or Standard. A team that wants a single company-wide view connecting several projects will find that the dedicated Portfolio management feature is reserved for Enterprise. There is no cheaper substitute beyond a board-combining dashboard.

A very small team, one or two people who want to pay for exactly the seats they use, should also budget carefully. monday’s paid plans start at a 3-seat minimum, and the exact pricing above that minimum is not published on the main pricing page. A team whose workflow genuinely needs a rigid, predefined structure, rather than one it designs itself, may also find monday’s flexibility becomes setup work. Someone has to decide the columns, groups, and automations before the board is useful, a decision monday does not make for the team the way a fixed task-inside-project hierarchy would.

How monday.com organizes work: workspaces, boards, groups, items, and subitems

A workspace is the top-level container, typically one per team or department, holding a set of boards. monday’s developer documentation describes a board’s structure directly: “The board’s structure consists of items (rows), groups (groups of rows), and columns, and the board’s data is stored in items and their respective updates sections.” An item is a single row of work, similar to a task or a record. A group clusters related items, commonly by status or stage, such as “In Progress” or “Done.” A column holds one piece of data for every item in the board, and a team chooses which columns a given board uses.

Below the item level, a board can also use subitems. monday’s developer documentation describes them as “special items that are ‘nested’ under the items on your board.” A subitem stores its own column data the same way a regular item does, and it can have its own subitems in turn, nested up to 5 levels deep on a multi-level board. In practice, this lets a team break one item, such as “Launch new pricing page,” into a checklist of smaller pieces of work. Each piece gets its own owner, status, and due date, without creating a second board.

Boards also carry ownership and access rules. The same developer reference documents three board types through a board_kind setting: private, public, and share. Whoever creates a private or shareable board is automatically added as its owner, and a board can list multiple owners as well as team-level owners. Permission scopes named in the reference include assignee, collaborators, everyone, and owners. A separate mechanism assigns each person or team a role of contributor (can edit content), editor (can edit content and structure), or viewer (read-only). This is schema-level documentation, not a plan-tier claim. monday’s public materials do not state which plan is required to create a private board or assign these roles, and this article found no other source that does either.

Columns, connected boards, and dependencies

A column is where a board’s actual behavior lives. monday’s developer column reference documents more than 25 column types. The everyday ones are familiar from any spreadsheet: Status for a workflow stage, People for an assignment, Date for a due date, Numbers, Dropdown, Files, and Long text. Others change what a board can do rather than just what it displays.

A Connect boards column links items across two different boards, so a row on one board can reference a specific row on another. monday’s column reference groups Mirror and Formula together as read-only columns whose data is “auto-generated or derived from other columns,” rather than typed in directly. A Mirror column uses that mechanism to display a value pulled in from whatever item a Connect boards column links to, without a second data-entry step. A Formula column uses the same read-only mechanism to show a calculated result, useful for something like a weighted deal value. A Dependency column, confirmed both in this reference and on monday’s pricing page, “create[s] dynamic dependencies between tasks,” so one item can be marked blocked until another is complete. Time tracking is its own column type as well, logging hours directly against an item.

Dependencies are confirmed on the Pro plan and up, described on the pricing page as part of “advanced columns” that “create dynamic dependencies between tasks and perform complex automated calculations across your board’s data.” That same phrase, advanced columns, is the pricing page’s umbrella term for this tier of functionality. It is reasonable to read Connect boards, Mirror, and Formula columns as falling under it too, since they share the same cross-board and calculated behavior. That reading is not separately confirmed anywhere monday publishes, so this article states it as a plausible inference, not a confirmed plan requirement for those three column types specifically.

Illustration, not a hands-on finding. Consider a sales team tracking partnership deals on a board with one item per prospect. A Status column marks the deal stage. A Numbers column holds the deal’s dollar value. A Dependency column links a “Contract review” item to a separate “Legal sign-off” item, so a rep can see at a glance that the deal cannot close until legal has acted. A Formula column multiplies the deal value by a stage-based probability to estimate a weighted pipeline figure. A Connect boards column ties the deal to a row on a separate “Client onboarding” board. A Mirror column then pulls that onboarding row’s current status back onto the sales board, so the rep does not have to check two places. This is a description of how documented column types could be combined, built from monday’s own column reference, not a workflow this article built and tested by hand.

A normal week: creating, assigning, and updating work

Day to day, a person adds a new item to a board and gives it a name. They fill in whichever columns the team has set up: an owner in a People column, a due date, a starting status. As work moves forward, the same person, or whoever the item is assigned to, updates the Status column. That single column change is the mechanism that actually moves an item from one group to another on a Kanban-style view. It is usually the one action that tells the rest of the team something happened, without a separate status meeting.

Illustration, not a hands-on finding. A marketing team runs its content calendar as one board, with a group for each stage of a campaign: Planning, In Production, Scheduled, and Live. Each item is one piece of content. A Date column holds the planned publish date, a People column names the writer, and a Files column holds the draft creative. When a writer finishes a draft, they move the item into the “In Production” group and change its Status to “Ready for review.” That status change is the visible signal a designer or editor picks up next, without either of them sending a separate message to say the work is ready. This is an illustration built from monday’s documented item, column, and group mechanics, not an observed usability finding.

Collaboration: updates, mentions, and notifications

Comments, files, and decisions attached to one specific item live in that item’s Updates thread rather than in a separate chat tool. monday’s developer documentation describes Updates as “item or board-specific communication threads where teams can share notes, files, and key information.” The same reference confirms that a person can mention a specific teammate, a team, or a board inside an update, using a mentions list attached to the update itself. That mentions list is the mechanism for pulling a specific person’s attention to one piece of work without leaving the board.

Continuing the content-calendar illustration above: an editor reviewing a draft leaves feedback and mentions the writer directly inside that item’s Updates thread, rather than messaging them in a separate tool. The conversation then stays attached to the exact piece of content it is about, visible to anyone who opens that item later, rather than scattered across a chat history. This is an illustration built from monday’s documented Updates and mentions mechanics, not an observed finding.

An update or a mention does reach a teammate outside the board itself. monday’s developer reference for notifications confirms that notifications “appear in multiple locations, including the bell icon and email.” A notification “relevant only to the signed-in user” appears under the bell icon, and an email goes out by default whenever the user gets one. That email setting can be turned off and customized in the user’s own profile settings. The same reference’s create_notification mutation names a Post target type specifically as one that “sends a notification referring to an update or reply,” tying that delivery mechanism directly to the Updates thread covered above. One thing is not confirmed: whether mentioning someone inside an update always generates its own separate notification, beyond the update’s own notification, or only surfaces the mention visually inside the thread. monday’s public materials do not spell out that specific distinction.

Views: what each one helps a team do

A view is a different way of looking at the same board data, and monday.com names several. monday’s Kanban feature page is the most fully described. It presents items as cards in status-based columns and supports dragging a card between columns to change its status. It also supports custom groups and filtering “by priority, status, or any custom field,” and promises a platform “that syncs changes in real-time” across a team. That combination, drag-and-drop status changes plus live sync, is what makes Kanban useful for a quick daily or weekly stand-up: a manager can see what moved and what is stuck without opening each item individually.

monday’s pricing page separately confirms Timeline, Gantt, and calendar views by name, starting on the Standard plan, and states that Pro adds “advanced board views” on top of that set. A Timeline or Gantt view is conventionally used to see a schedule of dated work laid out across a calendar span. That is the kind of view a launch manager or a scheduler would open instead of Kanban’s status-board layout. Public monday.com materials checked for this article do not describe what each of these three views displays beyond its name. This article states their existence and plan requirement as confirmed, without describing behavior it could not verify from a first-party source.

Templates and getting started

A new board starts blank. Someone has to decide its groups and columns before it is useful, which is the first real setup decision a new team makes on monday, rather than filling in a structure the product already assumes. monday’s template library softens that first step. The page states “200+ templates for any industry are now available.” Its featured categories are Project Management, Task Management, Marketing, and Sales leads & customers, with additional templates for CRM and sales, creative and design, software development, operations, construction, HR and recruitment, and IT. The same 200-plus count is confirmed separately on the Free plan’s own pricing bullet.

A template gives a new team a working set of groups and columns to start from and edit, rather than a fixed structure it cannot change. monday does not impose a task-inside-project hierarchy the way some competitors do. A team that skips templates and starts from a blank board has more early design decisions to make, but fewer structural limits once those decisions are made. No accessible monday.com page states which pricing plan a specific template requires beyond the general “200+ templates” bullet under Free, so this article does not claim template access is broader or narrower on any paid plan.

Automations: recipes, triggers, actions, and monthly limits

monday’s automation engine pairs a trigger with an action. A trigger is something that happens, such as a date arriving or an item’s status changing to “Done.” An action is something the system does in response, such as sending a notification, creating a new item, or reassigning an owner. monday’s automations page confirms notification, date-reminder, auto-assignment, task-creation, and handover-task actions, plus a library of “ready-made automations,” pre-built trigger-and-action pairs a team can turn on without configuring one from scratch, with “code-free” setup.

That convenience comes with a monthly cap that scales steeply by plan. Automated actions are not included at all on Free or Basic.

Plan Automation actions per month
Free Not included
Basic Not included
Standard 250
Pro 25,000
Enterprise 250,000, combined with integration actions

A team running more than a handful of automated recipes will exhaust Standard’s 250-action allowance quickly, since every trigger that fires counts against it. Pro’s 25,000-action allowance is the realistic floor for sustained, active automation use across a whole team, not just a single board.

Illustration, not a hands-on finding. In the sales-pipeline example above, a recipe could watch the Status column for a change to “Closed won.” When it fires, it could automatically create a new item on a separate “Client onboarding” board, carrying the account name across, using the same kind of cross-board reference a Connect boards column makes manually. Each time that recipe runs counts as one automated action against the plan’s monthly allowance. This is a description of how a documented trigger-and-action pair could be assembled, not a recipe this article built and ran.

Integrations, the API, and migration risk

Integration actions are a separate monthly allowance from automation actions, even though they scale on the same numbers. monday’s pricing page states 250 integration actions a month on Standard and 25,000 on Pro, matching the automation figures at each of those tiers. Enterprise combines automation and integration actions into one 250,000-a-month pool, rather than granting 250,000 of each separately, and Free and Basic do not include a stated integration-action allowance. The practical difference from an automation is what triggers the count: an automation runs inside monday.com itself, while an integration action runs whenever monday exchanges data with a connected third-party tool, such as posting a message to a chat app when an item changes.

On the developer side, monday’s API documentation confirms the API can read board data, useful for building a custom report outside monday itself, and supports “importing data from another source programmatically.” Read and import access, though, is not the same as a documented bulk export. No accessible monday.com or developer.monday.com page describes a one-click way to export or back up an entire account, which matters directly for migration risk: a team that later wants to leave monday.com, or that needs a compliance-grade backup, has a confirmed way to pull data out programmatically through the API, but not a confirmed packaged export feature to do it without custom development. This is recorded as not found, not as confirmation that monday lacks one; the support-center articles most likely to describe a board-level export return an access error to automated review.

API call limits follow the same per-plan pattern as automation and integration actions: none on Free or Basic, 1,000 calls a day on Standard, 10,000 on Pro, and 25,000 on Enterprise. A public API changelog shows active maintenance, with its most recent entry, dated June 25, 2026, adding a way to “consume AI models through monday.” On the marketplace side, monday’s public Marketplace lists third-party apps. The page does not state a total number of available integrations or list integration categories in its visible content, so this article does not report a specific count.

Dashboards and Portfolio management: two ways to see across boards

monday.com offers two distinct ways to see more than one board at a time, and confusing them can lead a buyer to the wrong plan. The first is a dashboard. monday’s dashboards page confirms four named widget types, Chart, Numbers, Battery, and Gantt, plus AI-generated summaries and scheduled reports, and describes dashboards as able to “consolidate work data from across teams, tools, and products.” A dashboard is a view built from combining data across a limited number of boards, and that limit scales sharply by plan.

Plan Boards combined per dashboard Portfolio management
Free Not offered Not included
Basic 1 Not included
Standard Up to 5 Not included
Pro 20 Not included
Enterprise Up to 50 Included

The second way is Portfolio management, a distinct, separately named feature available on Enterprise only. monday’s pricing page describes it as a way to “connect projects to a unified portfolio with real-time health snapshots, making it easy to monitor progress, risks, and alignment across initiatives.” That is different from a set of chart widgets a team assembles itself. The practical difference: a dashboard is a workspace a team builds itself from whichever boards and widgets it picks, while Portfolio management is a purpose-built, pre-structured view of project health across an organization. A team that only needs to see several boards’ worth of data in one place can do that with a dashboard well below Enterprise. A team that wants the health-and-risk framing built in, rather than assembled from chart widgets, has to pay for Enterprise specifically, since there is no lower-tier equivalent for Portfolio management itself.

Illustration, not a hands-on finding. A product team running a launch could combine its Engineering, Marketing, and Support boards into one dashboard, with a Battery widget showing overall launch-readiness percentage and a Gantt widget showing the combined schedule. Now suppose that same organization runs several product launches in parallel across different teams. An Enterprise buyer could instead use Portfolio management to see each launch’s health status in one unified view, rather than building and maintaining a separate combined dashboard for every launch by hand. Both descriptions are built from monday’s own documented features, not from a workspace this article configured and observed.

Forms and workdocs: structured intake and documentation

monday’s features page confirms two named documentation capabilities. “monday work docs” is a collaborative document tool that lives alongside boards. It is useful for a meeting agenda, a spec, or a wiki page a team wants to keep near its actual project data rather than in a separate document tool. “monday workforms” is a form-building tool for structured intake. It is useful for collecting a standardized request, such as an IT ticket or a creative brief, and routing the response onto a board automatically rather than manually retyping it from an email.

Neither monday’s features page nor its pricing page states which plan tier includes Docs or Forms as a whole capability. The Free plan’s pricing bullets do separately confirm “Up to 3 Docs” as an included limit. That indicates Docs exist at least at the free tier, without confirming the limit, or the presence of Forms, at paid tiers.

For a buyer, this pair of tools matters because it can remove two common workarounds. Instead of drafting a spec in a separate document tool and linking to it from a board, a work doc can sit directly next to the board it describes. A form can also write a submission straight onto a board as a new item, with its column values already filled in from the form’s own fields. That skips a manual re-entry step that some competitors still require.

Capability Plan availability
Workdocs (monday work docs) Confirmed as a platform capability; Free plan is limited to up to 3 Docs; no paid-tier limit stated
Forms (monday workforms) Confirmed as a platform capability; no plan tier stated in pricing bullets
Recurring items Not confirmed on pricing or feature pages; neither confirmed to exist nor confirmed absent

Native time tracking

Time tracking exists both as a described feature and as its own column type, confirmed on the Pro plan and up. monday’s pricing page describes it plainly: “Track and monitor the time spent on each task.” In practice, a time tracking column added to a board lets someone start and stop a timer against a specific item, or log time manually. That logged time can then feed into a dashboard widget or export alongside the rest of the board’s data. Free, Basic, and Standard do not include this column based on the published plan bullets.

This matters most for a team that bills clients by the hour or reports utilization internally. It removes a second system to reconcile: the same item that tracks what the work is also tracks how long it took. There is no separate timer app to export from and match back to a task by hand. A team that only wants a rough sense of how long something took, rather than billable-hour accuracy, may find a manual due-date estimate on Standard sufficient and skip paying for Pro on this feature alone. A team that wants to log time against monday items directly needs to budget for Pro regardless.

Administration, permissions, and governance

monday’s pricing page names two capabilities specifically as Enterprise-tier line items, quoted exactly as they appear: “Multi-level permissions” and “Enterprise-grade security & governance.” Below Enterprise, the pricing page does not break out a specific permissions model by plan. The general mechanics of who can do what on a board come from monday’s developer documentation rather than the pricing page: the contributor, editor, and viewer roles covered earlier. That documentation does not state which plan is required to use them. Multi-level permissions, as an Enterprise-only, named capability, appears to extend that model with organization-wide controls, though monday’s public materials do not spell out exactly what changes at that tier beyond the label itself.

For a buyer, the practical question is usually who can see, edit, or restructure a sensitive board, such as an HR tracker or an executive dashboard, without someone manually removing individual people from it. The contributor, editor, and viewer roles, plus board-level privacy settings, give a team the building blocks to restrict a board on its own. Multi-level permissions and Enterprise-grade security & governance appear to extend that same control consistently across an entire organization, rather than board by board, though the exact mechanics are not published beyond monday’s own labels for them. A company with a hard compliance requirement to prove that control, rather than just apply it informally, should confirm the specifics with monday.com directly.

Security certifications and compliance claims

A security certification and a compliance claim are two different things. A certification means an outside auditor checked the company and issued a report. A compliance claim is the company’s own statement that it follows a given law, not a certificate from an auditor. This article keeps the two separate rather than listing them together as one undifferentiated trust claim.

monday’s trust center lists a set of independently audited certifications: SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, and TX RAMP. It also lists the ISO/IEC 27001 family (27001:2022, 27017:2015, 27018:2019, 27032:2023, 27701:2019) and CSA STAR. Separately, monday states compliance with GDPR, the UK GDPR, CCPA, the Australian Privacy Act, a HIPAA Business Associate Agreement, PIPEDA, LGPD, APPI, and EU-US Data Privacy Framework participation. The trust center also states monday has more than 250,000 customers worldwide, a company claim rather than an independently audited number.

The distinction matters for a procurement checklist. A SOC 2 Type II report, for example, can be requested and reviewed by a buyer’s own security team, since an independent auditor produced it. A compliance claim like GDPR adherence cannot be independently verified the same way from the trust center page alone; it is monday’s own statement. A buyer with a hard regulatory requirement should still confirm the specifics, such as a signed data processing agreement, directly with monday.com rather than treating the trust center listing as the final word.

AI tools and credits

monday bundles its AI features by plan rather than by a separately named product. monday’s pricing page confirms Basic includes 3 tools and 1,000 AI credits a month: a limited AI agent workforce, a Sidekick assistant, and a Vibe app builder. Standard adds workforce agents, a meeting notetaker, and AI columns, for 5 tools and 2,000 credits a month. Pro adds an AI workflow builder, for 6 tools and 3,000 credits a month. Enterprise also lists 6 tools, the same count as Pro. Its credit allowance is not a fixed number the way the other three plans’ are, though; the page states “custom AI credits matched to how your team actually works” instead of a monthly figure. monday’s free plan has no AI features at all; AI starts at Basic.

monday’s product updates page shows heavy recent investment in this area. Recent entries include a human-in-the-loop approval block for AI-built workflows and an “MCP Block” that lets an AI workflow call any third-party app with a public MCP server. Other recent entries include managing automations through the Sidekick assistant “from anywhere,” and a batch of Vibe-branded additions covering an AI meeting notetaker, an editable-Office-file export, and barcode-and-QR-code capture. Several of these updates changed what “AI tools” means on this platform within the past few months. A buyer comparing tool counts across plans should treat the numbers above as a snapshot rather than a permanent feature list.

Plans, pricing, the 3-seat minimum, and upgrade triggers

Here is what each plan includes, based on monday’s pricing page, checked in September 2026.

Plan Price Boards per dashboard Automation actions per month Who it’s for
Free $0, up to 2 seats Not offered None Individuals or pairs trying the product
Basic $9 per seat a month billed annually 1 None Small teams that mainly need boards and light AI
Standard $12 per seat a month billed annually Up to 5 250 Teams that need guest access, richer views, and light automation
Pro $19 per seat a month billed annually 20 25,000 Teams that need dependencies, time tracking, and heavy automation
Enterprise Custom, contact sales Up to 50, plus Portfolio management 250,000, combined with integration actions Organizations that need multi-level permissions and enterprise governance

monday’s main pricing page does not state a minimum seat count anywhere in its visible content. A separate monday.com support article states that paid Work Management plans start at a 3-seat minimum and are sold in seat buckets above that, rather than one seat at a time. That article returns an access error to automated retrieval, so this fact was confirmed by manual review rather than an automated fetch, both valid verification methods under this site’s evidence rules. The exact bucket sizes above 3 seats are not stated anywhere this article could confirm. A team of exactly 4 people, for example, might be billed for 4 seats. It might instead be required to buy the next full bucket, such as 5 or 10 seats; this article does not assume either outcome. A team near a bucket boundary should confirm its exact price with monday.com directly before budgeting.

The table below lists the specific features most likely to force an upgrade, based on what each plan actually includes rather than its price alone.

Feature Plan required What changes
Guest access Standard and up Not available on Free or Basic
Timeline, Gantt, and calendar views Standard and up Free and Basic ship a narrower view set
Task dependencies and native time tracking Pro and up Not available on Free, Basic, or Standard
Dashboard combining more than 1 board Basic combines 1; Standard 5; Pro 20; Enterprise 50 Cross-board reporting scales sharply by plan
Portfolio management Enterprise only No lower-tier alternative exists
Automated actions beyond 250 a month Pro and up Standard’s 250-action allowance is easy to exhaust
API and integration actions Standard and up Not available on Free or Basic
Multi-level permissions and Enterprise-grade governance Enterprise only Named specifically at the top tier
An exact seat price for a very small team Support-article manual check required The 3-seat minimum and bucket sizes are not on the main pricing page
A documented full-account data export Not confirmed at any plan Only read and import API access is confirmed

Annual cost by team size

All three team sizes below, 5, 10, and 25 people, sit comfortably above monday’s 3-seat minimum, so the simple per-seat math is unlikely to be affected by that specific rule. It could still differ from an actual invoice if a team’s exact seat count falls awkwardly inside monday’s unpublished bucket sizes.

Plan Price per seat, per month 5-person team, per year 10-person team, per year 25-person team, per year
Basic $9 $540 $1,080 $2,700
Standard $12 $720 $1,440 $3,600
Pro $19 $1,140 $2,280 $5,700
Enterprise Custom Not modeled; contact sales Not modeled; contact sales Not modeled; contact sales
Bar chart comparing monday.com Basic, Standard, and Pro annual cost at 5, 10, and 25-person teams. Pro costs more than double Basic's per-seat rate at every size, and the gap widens as the team grows. Exact figures are in the pricing table above.
Annual list-price cost by team size, billed annually per seat, as of September 2026. Compares monday.com Basic, Standard, and Pro for 5, 10, and 25-person teams. Figures are flat per-seat multiplication; monday sells in seat buckets above a 3-seat minimum, so an actual invoice could differ slightly. Excludes tax and AI usage beyond the plan allowance. Source: monday.com/pricing.

These totals are simple math: the monthly per-seat price times 12 months times the number of seats. The gap between plans grows with team size because all three are priced per seat. Moving from Basic to Pro more than doubles the per-seat price. That upgrade also adds dependencies, native time tracking, a much larger dashboard, and a far higher automation allowance, not just a bigger number attached to the same feature set.

For a 25-person team, that upgrade is a real budget decision: the jump from Basic to Pro adds about $3,000 a year, roughly the cost of paying for 5.5 more Basic seats, purely to unlock dependencies, native time tracking, and a much larger automation allowance. A buyer deciding between plans should weigh that gap against which specific Pro-only feature the team actually needs, not against Basic’s lower headline price alone. Basic and Pro are not comparable purchases once dependencies or time tracking are a requirement.

Strengths and weaknesses

monday.com’s biggest strength is also the source of its biggest weakness: nothing about its board structure is fixed. Boards, groups, and columns adapt to almost any process, including a workflow that does not naturally break into tasks and projects. Connected boards, mirror columns, and formulas let one board pull in data from another without manual re-entry. Ready-made automation recipes let a team turn on a working automation immediately. A wide, independently audited security certification set pairs with a broader regional privacy-compliance list than typical for this category. Recent, frequent AI and automation feature releases show active investment, visible directly on monday’s own product-updates page.

The same flexibility means dependencies and native time tracking, two of the most commonly needed project-management features, both require Pro, two tiers above the cheapest paid plan. A dedicated cross-project Portfolio management feature exists only on Enterprise, with no lower-cost equivalent for a team that outgrows a combined-board dashboard. Standard’s 250-action monthly automation allowance is easy for an active team to exhaust, pushing real automation use toward the more expensive Pro plan. The 3-seat minimum and its bucket sizes above that minimum are not published on the main pricing page, so a very small team cannot get an exact price without a manual support check. No monday.com source accessible to this article describes a documented, one-click way to export or back up an entire account. A dedicated Workload or resource-capacity feature could not be confirmed either, only a weak, image-based “team availability” signal.

Recommendation by scenario

The right plan depends on which specific capability a team actually needs, not on team size alone. Two teams the same size can land on different plans once one of them needs dependencies, a larger dashboard, or Portfolio management and the other does not. Each row below names a concrete situation, the plan that fits it best, and the reversal condition, the specific fact that would flip the recommendation to a different plan instead.

Scenario Recommendation Reversal condition
A small team wants the cheapest way to organize boards today Basic Needing guest access or richer views pushes the team to Standard, narrowing the price gap
A team needs both task dependencies and native time tracking Pro Accepting a status column instead of true dependencies, plus a third-party time tracker, could keep the team on Standard
A growing team wants several boards on one dashboard without the top plan Pro, for its 20-board dashboard If 5 boards is enough, Standard covers it at a much lower price
A team wants heavy automation without exhausting a monthly cap Pro Light automation users may never approach Standard’s 250-action cap
An organization needs Portfolio management and multi-level permissions Enterprise If a 50-board combined dashboard covers the cross-project need, the dedicated Portfolio object may not be worth a custom quote
A team’s workflow does not fit a fixed task-and-project hierarchy Any paid monday plan Needing that workflow formally tied to a company-wide goal still leads back to Enterprise’s Portfolio management
A very small team wants to budget precisely before committing Confirm the 3-seat minimum and bucket pricing with monday.com directly If the team is already at or above 10 seats, bucket rounding is unlikely to matter much

Notice how often Pro shows up as the answer above. That is not a coincidence. Pro is the plan where dependencies, native time tracking, and a meaningfully larger automation allowance all become available at once. Most teams that need any one of those three end up needing that plan regardless of which one triggered the decision. A buyer who only needs a single capability from that set should still check for a cheaper workaround first, such as a third-party time-tracking integration instead of native time tracking, before assuming Pro is required. Enterprise only shows up when the requirement has no lower-tier substitute at all, Portfolio management or multi-level permissions. That is a narrower and more expensive decision than the everyday Basic-versus-Standard-versus-Pro tradeoff most buyers actually face.

Alternatives to monday.com

Asana is the closest direct alternative reviewed on this site. Asana’s features page describes work organized as tasks inside projects, which can roll up into portfolios connected to company goals, a more structured model than monday’s board-and-column approach. Asana’s pricing page confirms dependencies and unlimited guest seats on its cheapest paid plan, Starter, both features that require monday’s more expensive Pro plan instead. Asana goes further on time tracking specifically. Syncing with an outside time-tracking tool is free on Asana’s Personal plan, before a buyer pays anything, while monday charges for its Pro plan to get native time tracking at all. Asana’s portfolio-and-goals layer is available on its Advanced plan, one tier below its top plan, while monday’s closest equivalent, Portfolio management, is Enterprise only, monday’s top tier. Asana’s developer documentation also documents a different API model, built around OAuth for apps that work across several workspaces, rather than monday’s board-scoped column and update mutations. The complete Asana review and the Asana versus monday.com comparison cover this tradeoff in full, including normalized pricing at several team sizes.

ClickUp is also compared against monday.com on this site, but its own pricing and feature evidence has not yet been independently verified for a standalone review, so no specific ClickUp claim is repeated here. Check back on this site’s project management category hub as that research is completed.

Final recommendation

monday.com is a strong choice for a team that wants to design its own board layout instead of adopting a fixed task-and-project structure. It should be ready to pay Pro pricing to get dependencies, native time tracking, and a much larger automation allowance together. It becomes a stronger choice still for a team that values ready-made automation recipes over building rules from scratch. The same is true for a team whose work genuinely spans connected boards, such as a sales pipeline tied to an onboarding process, and for a company that needs a wide regional privacy-compliance list.

It is a weaker choice for a team that wants those same features, or a formal cross-project Portfolio view, at a lower price point. It is also a weaker choice for a very small team that needs an exact, confirmed seat price before committing. The 3-seat minimum and its bucket sizes require a manual check beyond the main pricing page. Buyers in any of those situations should read the alternatives above before committing.

Sources, methodology, and limitations

This article uses only information published by monday.com itself, reopened and checked in September 2026. Sources include its pricing page, trust center, features page, automations page, dashboards page, Kanban feature page, templates page, and product-updates page. They also include developer documentation covering boards, subitems, column types, updates, and notifications, plus one manually checked support article. No hands-on product testing was performed. The workflow illustrations above describe how documented features could be combined; they are not observed usability, speed, or performance findings.

Three things could not be fully confirmed from monday.com’s accessible public materials. First, a dedicated Workload or resource-capacity feature; only a weak, image-based signal was found, not a named feature with a stated plan requirement. Second, the exact seat-bucket sizes above the confirmed 3-seat minimum. Third, whether monday.com offers a documented bulk account export or backup feature comparable to some competitors; its API confirms read and import access only. A fourth, narrower gap: whether Connect boards, Mirror, and Formula columns require the same Pro-plan “advanced columns” tier as Dependency columns is a reasonable inference from shared terminology, not a separately confirmed fact. All four are stated above as unresolved rather than estimated in either direction.

This article follows the sourcing rules described on our methodology page. Every price, plan limit, and feature claim above traces back to a first-party monday.com page dated in this article.

Pricing snapshot

monday.com pricing

Checked September 24, 2026

Free

$0

Up to 2 seats

Basic

$9/seat/month billed annually; page's calculator shows $10/month discounted rate

Per seat; pricing calculator defaults to a 10-seat quote, not confirmed as a policy minimum

Standard

$12/seat/month billed annually; calculator shows $20/month discounted rate

Per seat; 10-seat calculator default

Pro

$19/seat/month billed annually; calculator shows $30/month discounted rate

Per seat; 10-seat calculator default

Enterprise

Custom price, contact sales

Per seat, custom quote